Please or Register to create posts and topics.

My Food Truck Is Bankrupt—Wife Took Money

I don’t even know where to begin. I’m in a really bad spot and could use any advice or even just some words of encouragement. I’ve been running a food truck for about 5 years. At one point, I thought things were going pretty well. We had a steady stream of customers, were booking catering gigs, and making decent money—at least, that’s what I thought.

Now, I’m staring at more than $25,000 in debt, my food truck is bankrupt, and my wife of 10 years has left me. I never imagined I’d be here.

Here’s the deal: my wife and I started this food truck together. She handled all the finances while I took care of running the truck, cooking, and keeping things going day-to-day. I trusted her completely—I mean, she was my wife, my partner. I thought we were a team. I didn’t dig into the financials because I figured she had it under control. I was so focused on the truck itself that I didn’t even realize what was happening behind my back.

It all came crashing down a few months ago. I got a call from one of our vendors, asking when they were going to get paid. I was confused because I thought we’d been paying everything upfront. I called my wife, and she brushed it off, saying she’d take care of it. But something wasn’t sitting right. I started going through our financial records, and that’s when I realized things were much worse than I ever thought.

She had been siphoning off money from the business for years—putting it into a separate account that I knew nothing about. While I was working 12-hour days, busting my ass to keep the truck running, she was draining our funds and lying to me. I found out she hadn’t been paying the vendors, and we were deep in debt, racking up unpaid bills that I didn’t even know existed.